Great read for first time moms!

_225_350_Book.824.cover

This is another guest post from my wife, Sarah. Enjoy!

No child is the same; there is no set rule with eating, sleeping, and diaper changes. Parenting is about finding what works best for you and your baby.  I excitedly got Erin MacPherson’s The Christian Mama’s Guide to Baby’s First Year in the hope of finding some answers for my second child’s sleeping difficulties. I skipped forward to that chapter and quickly read it. After realizing it would not have my answer I began practicing some suggestions and at least found encouragement in being reminded of needing to find what works best for us.

When I picked the book back up and read each chapter, I realized the jewel that it is for new moms. Most of the information in the book was stuff I have already experienced; but, as a new mom, this book would have been most helpful! MacPherson does a great job explaining (in a not so terrifying way) labor, delivery (both vaginal and cesarean sections) and the recovery road. I would have loved to read this before my first child as the process and recovery can be a bit overwhelming, not to mention the whole breastfeeding and tending to your baby. I absolutely loved how she explained pregnancy and delivery as being traumatizing to your body. My second child wreaked havoc on my body: tons of stretch marks, lots of extra skin and that’s just to name a few. The book made me embrace it and feel more comfortable with it.

She has an excellent chapter on breastfeeding and throws in a chapter about bottles. While I breastfed both my babies, I feel like both of those chapters are written a bit biasedly and seems to assume you are going to be breastfeeding (although she does mention formula and doing what’s best for you and your baby). MacPherson addresses doctor visits, for both you and your bundle of joy, and there is some great information in that section. My favorite, by far, was her chapter on our husbands. She gives tips, ideas and reminders of how to help make sure your husband isn’t put on the back burner and how you can encourage your little one’s father to be the Spiritual Leader, husband and father that Christ has called him to be.

I would recommend this book to all new moms! It’s all stuff that would make such a roller coast of a ride a little smoother. Second or third time moms? Not so much, but because it’s such an easy read, it could be worth the time for some simple reminders, prayer ideas and encouragement.

Leave a Reply

