The Handy (Pocket-sized) Guide to Greek

As my interest in New Testament studies has grown larger over the past couple of years, my desire for a better understanding of the original Greek language has developed as well. But getting into a Greek language study is no small task. Resources abound, and it’s fairly amazing how many different takes there are on even the basics of Greek grammar and syntax (as someone who teaches English five days I week, I know this isn’t an isolated case). I’ve taken multiple hermeneutics courses throughout my education, so I have a basic working knowledge of Greek. But I’m certainly not up to snuff for something in-depth. Finding a good guide to folks in Greek limbo, like me, is a difficult task. However, the good folks over at Kregel Academic have set themselves to correcting this problem.

Douglas S. Huffman’s
The Handy Guide to New Testament Greek has proven to be an essential resource in my library. I’ve been working with over the past couple of months, and its straightforward layman approach to explaining grammar, syntax and diagramming has made my studies all the more fluid. At least half of the publication consists of easy to use charts (and they are thankfully easy on the eyes as well), which makes things handy if using in a classroom or if you need to simply confirm something as you’re studying. In particular, I found Huffman’s treatment of prepositions incredibly helpful. Prepositions are those pesky, ninjas of the English language which frequently confuse my students. So obviously, their Greek counterparts give me pause. But Huffman deftly maneuvered through the material in an accessible way (I loved his section title “Pre-Positioned to Give Directions”).

While the pro Greek scholar may find the book lacking in certain areas (it certainly doesn’t deal with troublesome areas of translation like Romans 1, etc.), even still the book is well worth your time. I cannot recommend this book enough. In particular, I would think this an excellent classroom resource for high school and undergraduate students.

Leave a Reply

