Making the most of it

Typically, when I blog, I’m writing about some concept I’m wrestling with, or some argument I lost or posting an occasional book review. Today, I’d like to do something a bit different. I want to tell you about a man I know.

Brian is my brother-in-law. He married my wife’s sister, Rachel, who has been one of my dearest friends for the last ten years of my life. When they got married, I felt blessed because I genuinely thought he’d push my friend (by that point my sister-in-law) to draw closer to Christ. Since that’s what I think a spouse’s primary purpose is, it was a good feeling.

Brian works at a bank. I don’t think it’s where he thought he’d be long term, but he’s happy there. He understands finances and federal statutes far better than I ever could. If anyone from my home town ever asks where they should bank, I send them to Brian. He is gentle, yet able to be firm (as I’ve personally witnessed as his two year old daughter and my two year old son duked it out over toys this Christmas). While I don’t live close to him any longer, I still get a strong sense that he is a good husband, father and employee living out Biblical principles in every aspect of his life.

On my most recent journey to Crestview, he shared a story of how a local woman needed help and he did what he could. He’d never met her. She was simply a customer at his bank who he had spoken to a few times over the phone. We also talked about how his bank will frequently process bills even if the client overdrafts. They don’t want people’s power to go out, so they process the electric bill as an act of good faith. He said something that struck me, “We probably shouldn’t, but we do.” And that is thing: there is much that Brian does that might seem foolish to the world, but he does it.

Jesus said “You will know them by their fruits. Grapes are not gathered from thorn bushes nor figs from thistles, are they? So every good tree bears good fruit, but the bad tree bears bad fruit,” (Matthew 7:16-17). And Brian is the kind of guy I frequently see bearing good fruit. He’s not perfect, but that’s not really the point. He has good roots, strongly planted in the foundation of Christ, and I think that’s something worth sharing.

I hope everyone knows a Brian. Someone who takes the phrase, “making the most of it,” and changes it from something negative to something that honors God. To Him be the glory.

Leave a Reply

