Broken Hearts

Hillsong UNITED sing a song that has been weighing heavily on me of late. Feel free to listen to it now, or skip below. But really, it’s a good song.

The line in particular that has been replaying in my mind this week is this: break my heart for breaks Yours. This fits in nicely with Micah 6:8, which has also been on my mind lately. I like the way The Voice renders it:

He has told you, mortals, what is good in His sight.
What else does the Eternal ask of you,
But to live justly and to love kindness,
and to walk with your True God in all humility?

I don’t think my heart breaks for the same things that break God’s heart. I wish I could say otherwise, but if I have learned anything over the past week, it is that I am still a ways off from holiness. Oh, I’m set apart. In fact, I think God has called me specifically, and by name. But my character is not always Christ’s. Which is a shame, because it’s His life at this point.

So over the next couple of months, I’m going on a journey. Metaphorically speaking, of course. I want to know what breaks God’s heart. I plan on digging through Scripture, and probably consulting some Church Fathers, until I feel like I have some kind of grasp on what really moves God. Because I want my heart to break for the same reason that God’s breaks.

I invite you keep coming back as I will undoubtedly post about all of this. Welcome to the madhouse!

Leave a Reply

