What you believe

What you believe matters.

That is, if it causes you to do something about it.1

My old pastor used to say, “it’s easy to say I believe in the resurrection, because I’m not tested on it today.” This is a lesson I’ve taken to heart over the last few years, and I’m always glad for the opportunity to revisit it.

This past Wednesday, our college group was talking about why Christians should care about the environment (we used global warming as our starting point) and it brought about some good discussion. And I think the best thought that came out of the night was this: it doesn’t matter what you believe about climate change, do you believe your actions affect other people? Even in third world countries?

A friend came up to me afterwards and told me he had spent most of the talk trying to poke holes in my argument, and in my opinion, he found a couple of good ones that he should have brought up in the general discussion. It was a good moment because it reminded me that sometimes what I say is not necessarily how to live (or appear to be living). In fact, sometimes I say “we should be like this because Jesus said this,” and then I turn around and don’t do it. Paul deals with this very thing in his letter to the Roman Church, which means I’m in good company.

And this is one of the many reasons why we need good company and solid relationships in our lives. We all have blind spots. Acting like we don’t won’t change the fact. No matter how self-reflecting you may be, you still don’t see everything. That’s not something to be ashamed of. But it is something we must admit. After all, we’re designed to be relational.

I need someone to tell me where my blind spots are. We all do. Which is why I’m part of a community. One might say, I believe it will make a difference.

What community are you a part of?


1I am aware that there is often an argument about knowing versus believing (and many variations of the like). This post is less worried about being semantic, and more concerned about day-to-day living. Frame the discussion however you like from there.

Leave a Reply

