Breaking a Sweat

When Jesus says, “love the Lord your God with all your…mind,” I am fully tuned in.

“Love God with my thoughts and intellect? Dude, I’m there.”

Of course, that’s not the whole verse. See, Jesus also tells us to love God with our hearts, souls, and bodies. But like many other Christians out there, I tend to focus on the one I’m best at.

12_82_70---Firewood_webFor instance, I’m not too keen on working out. Or physical labor of any kind, for that matter. Despite a lifetime of experiencing the blessing of work. When I lived in Colorado, we would chop wood and there was something wholly invigorating about it. The pine chips scattered about. The other guys raising their axes high in the air, and then bringing them down like swift justice on the logs standing on end. The sound. The air. All of it came together to make for an experience I enjoyed, in spite of blisters and sweat and aching muscles.

But that was, unfortunately, a mountain-top experience. That’s not how I lived throughout the other 6 days of the week, and it is certainly not how I live now. In other words, I don’t love God with my body.

But it’s not just an issue of neglecting some aspect of my relationship with God. It’s about exhausting other aspects.

I’m reading four different books right now. Four. And those are just the ones I read apart from preparing for my class lectures. Not to mention the blogs, the articles, and the countless journals I read all in an effort to think Biblically and thus love God with my mind. Of course, my mind won’t be of any use if it’s mush.

This business of loving God requires us to labor in more than one area. Simply breaking a mental sweat, or a physical one, will not bring us into true intimacy with Christ. We have to strive to be whole people.

I John puts it like this:

If we say that we have fellowship with Him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth; but if we walk in the Light as He Himself is in the Light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus His Son cleanses us from all sin.

We have to get rid of the darkness. Any maybe that means working out for 20 minutes each day, Or reading a book. Or honestly dealing with our emotions. Whatever it is, God will show up when we do. And that’s encouraging.

Leave a Reply

