Pots & Kettles

Recently, I read an article from The Blaze about the evil motives behind Sesame Street. My initial reaction was of the knee-jerk persuasion. I ranted about hypocrisy and double standards, highlighting that the author of the article was in fact pushing his own agenda, much like the liberals who he blasted.

The next day, I did a little more digging in the book covered in the article, and stumbled upon a slightly more thorough (and decidedly not Glenn Beck affiliated) article.

All of this goes to say one thing: I have a confession. IN the midst of my tirade against what I perceive as the “insane right”,” I engaged in the kind of behavior that I loathe about them. I jumped to conclusions just because an article was associated with Mr. Beck (and its not even THAT closely associated with him). In truth, I’m ashamed of myself.

But, as a pastor I listen to occasionally once said, the trick is to own your sin (my paraphrase).  Good advice, and a necessity for maintaining honesty with God. When John the Baptist told the crowds, “Repent of your sins and turn to God, for the Kingdom of Heaven is near,” this is what he was talking about. Part of of confession is not clamoring for excuses. It’s what separated David from Solomon. And I hope it’s what separates me as well.

Forgive me of my haughtiness, Lord. Never let me forget that it is not my political or social ideologies that determines my life, but rather my relationship to You which is of the utmost importance. Thank You for Your Grace and Kindness. Teach me to share those things with all that surround me. In the name of your precious Son, Amen.

Leave a Reply

