Peace Is Coming (McNoughton)

This painting is called “Peace Is Coming” and you can read more about it here and here. The artist was inspired by Isaiah 2:4,

And He will judge between the nations, And will render decisions for many peoples; And they will hammer their swords into plowshares and their spears into pruning hooks. Nation will not lift up sword against nation, And never again will they learn war.

McNaughton has some strong opinions which he expresses through his art. I don’t agree with everything he opines, but this picture gives me a lot to think about.

Libya. Egypt. Iran. Iraq. Afghanistan. Tunisia. And all of these places have seen violence and war just recently. Only going back the last 30 years adds Vietnam, Somalia, Bosnia, Yugoslavia, the Czech Republic, and many more.

I guess my thought is that everyone experiences war. People fight over what they believe, whether those beliefs are religious or political or societal. People fight because they think they’re serving something. And while some people hold firmly to the idea that violence is never the answer, there is always a dissenting opinion.

I don’t know how to decide which wars to get involved in, or which atrocities to try and stop. But this picture, regardless of motive or inaccuracy, reminds me that there is something so wonderful to hope for. It reminds me that more and more, Jesus is the only answer for this world, for my community, for my family, for me.

Peace is coming, indeed

Leave a Reply

