More than confused

With all the hullabaloo about the cancelled Mississippi prom, I’ve been thinking about homosexuality in America.

Today I found myself really confused about the whole thing. Schools in the “Bible belt” forbid same-sex dance partners. State governments argue back and forth about who can and can’t be wed. Christians argue with secular people about the depravity they see. Liberals try very hard to make it seem as though homosexuality should be viewed as a norm. It seems like everyone is trying their best to make everyone else see things their way. Which of course, will never truly work.

The thing about America is, well, minorities will always have the advantage. At least in a legal sense. America is founded on the idea that the majority will try to take away the perceived rights of the minority. The masses will subjugate everyone else, basically. The people who put together the documents that bind America together saw this inherent danger, and put things in place to prevent it. And many politicians since then have helped put more measures in place to make sure that minorities are protected.

Now, with that being said, I don’t think there’s any disputing that the gay community is a minority in America. And as such, the government will do everything it can to give that community the same rights as everyone else. Christians can be upset by this, or they can simply move on.

Part of the issue, in my very insignificant opinion, is patriotism. So many Christians are upset by gay rights because it flies in the face of their religious beliefs (although I don’t think that’s entirely true; murderers receive rights, and the Bible has much harsher judgments for people who teach people things that are untrue about God than it does for homosexuals). As I was walking home from work today, I started wondering if Paul was a patriot. I doubt it. Jesus certainly wasn’t. He had more negative things to say about the “politicians” in the Hebrew community than He did anyone else. Jesus told His disciples to “render to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s” (Matthew 22:21). Jesus didn’t seem to care much about any one political institution. I think that’s because He knew just how transitory all governments are. Nothing lasts, really. And patriotism demands a loyalty to one’s nationality that I do not think is very Christ-like. Rather than acknowledge this, most American Christians try to make their patriotism fit by making America into a “Christian nation.”

So as I’ve thought about this, I’ve come to the conclusion that I believe Christians are wrong to try to force a Biblical worldview on a secular nation. I wouldn’t see anything wrong with holding people to God’s standards were this a Christian based government. But that’s not the case. There are people in America who do not believe in God. And for some reason I doubt Christians accurately represent God to those people when they do what they can to deny people of the rights they feel they deserve. Are all rights universal? I don’t necessarily think so, but that doesn’t matter because the American government does. Fighting it is a waste of resources, quite frankly.

Understanding that I am not a patriot in a conventional sense of the word (I do in fact say the pledge of allegiance, and would serve my country if asked to; but that’s about as far as it goes. Truth be told, I rarely vote), I am finding it difficult to understand the mainstream Christian perspective concerning gay rights. I am certainly convinced that the gay rights battle is not anything like the Civil Rights movement in the 20th century, and it annoys me greatly when the two are compared. Yet even though I do not agree with the belief that people should be allowed to live however they want simply because they want to, I do not see any reason for Christians to struggle so hard to keep certain rights away from the gay community (I apologize if I sound repetitive; I’m trying to somewhat PC).

Exactly how do we display the love of Christ when we argue with someone about who they can and cannot marry? Especially in America, where the divorce rate clearly demonstrates a lack of respect for the “sanctity” of marriage? I just fail to see the point. It seems hypocritical to me. Christians say marriage is sacred, but they don’t treat it that way. And if marriage is no longer sacred, then what is the Christian argument against gay marriage? It’s just all so… self-righteous. And there’s nothing of Christ in that.

2 thoughts on “More than confused

  1. I think you may be struggling with the meaning of love. The Bible tells us that Christians are called to love everyone. That means to show respect and concern for another person. However, the Bible does not tell Christians to condone sinful actions. Christians can love the person and hate the sin. That’s what you are seeing. A true Christian wants to love the homosexual community, however in doing this they cannot stand by and condone their sinful act. We are not saying that homosexuals are less of a person and have any less rights. However, when the “rights” they want infringe upon the basic truths America was founded upon, it becomes a problem. The homosexual lifestyle is not a “right” in this country. Our founding fathers did not come to this country to give people that right. They founded this country on the principle of God fearing people who would honor God in their thoughts and actions. We are not fighting to repress the homosexual person. We are fighting to prevent the sinful behavior of homosexuality from becoming accepted by our govt and society. Where there is sin there is judgment. Why do we want to make a sinful act a “right” when all it will bring is judgment upon the country?

    Christy
    http://www.OverflowLiving.com

    • Christy,

      I appreciate your comments, but I think we disagree on a fundamental. I do not think America was actually founded on Christianity. Religious freedom? Yeah. But to call Thomas Jefferson, one of the most crucial founding fathers, a Christian is wholly inaccurate. I don’t know if you have ever read his version of the Bible, but you should. It stands as evidence that not all of the founding fathers were fundamental Christians, and so I find it hard to believe that America was truly based on Christianity.

      With that being said, I also disagree that I am struggling with the concept of love. I agree with what you said about love, and how Christians should treat the gay community. In truth though, Christians in America are not behaving the way you describe. There are some, yes, but they are certainly the minority. Most of the “Christians” I have encountered/read/heard are more interested in being judgmental, rather than loving.

      I don’t doubt judgment will come upon America, but that judgment does not hinge on gay marriage. And if America is indeed the “Christian” nation that you believe it to be, then God’s judgment will be very severe since America has failed in the same areas that Israel did in the Old Testament. More Christians serve greed and selfishness far more than they serve God.

      What should happen, in my opinion, is that Christians should refocus their efforts. Instead of campaigning against gay rights (which is inevitable in America, as I pointed out in my post, because America is built to protect the minority), Christians should campaign to bring revival and truth back into God’s church. If the Christian community could stand together, in love, and demonstrate what it means to be the bride of Christ, things would be quite different. Once we clean house, then I’d be willing to listen to someone talk about political reform.

      Thanks for your thoughts. I appreciate good conversation.

Leave a Reply

