On Thomas A Kempis…

So I’ve been reading The Imitation of Christ before work in the mornings along with My Utmost for His Highest. And quite frankly, Thomas A Kempis can be confusing. He tends to range in extreme emotions, one day writing about how we should divorce ourselves from everyone we know, and the next talking about brotherly love. Its a good exercise for me in the morning, because it gives me something to chew on throughout the day.

This morning’s entry was a brotherly love one, and I enjoyed it so much I wanted to share it.

…God hath thus ordered it, that we may learn to bear one another’s burdens; for no man is without fault, no man without his burden, no man sufficient of himself, no man wise enough of himself; but we ought to bear with one another, comfort one another, help, instruct, and admonish one another.

I feel like this really covers the bases. We’re not perfect, not in good ways or bad ways. And we should be there for each other, to say it will be alright and to tell each other to stop being stupid. That’s a nonchalant way of putting it, but its true. We’re called to be honest. We’re called to be true. And in order to do that, we have to more than rebuke someone every time we see them, as well as doing more than always patting someone on the back and saying “good job.” Because we’re not perfect. And no one stays the same. Sometimes we do things righteously, and other times not so much.

I know its a basic thought, but its comforting. I know my responsibility to my “brethren,” and hopefully they know theirs to me. Hammerken certainly knew his.

Leave a Reply

