A Genuine Hope

Hope is not the conviction that something will turn out well, but the certainty that something makes sense, regardless of how it turns out. – Vaclav Havel

know Hope  Ever since I read this quote, it has stuck to the inside of my mind like a burnt piece of popcorn stuck to the bottom of the bag. I like the quote, don’t get me wrong, but I really don’t know what it means. I have theories. But I don’t have any practical life experience to back it up. It’s a concept to me.

My mom, on the other hand, has a firm grasp on this idea. I don’t very often feel like I learn things. Not so much because people don’t have anything to often, but because I am so entrenched in my own stubbornness that it’s difficult for me to really learn from someone else’s experiences. But recently, my mom has shown me what it means to hope like Mr. Havel.

Her hope is the stuff of dreams, and I believe that it is the kind of thing that causes God to smile and say, “this is My servant, in whom I am well-pleased.”

Leave a Reply

