Surrender

 

Kenny once said that to surrender is to run out of ammo. Rather profound, that is. And since I heard him say that, that has been my view on surrendering to God. People, myself included, can’t really surrender unless we have nothing left to fight with.

Recently though, I’ve been giving some thought to that. Something C.S. Lewis wrote made me start to wonder if there was another type of surrender; a surrender that doesn’t require a fight at all. The answer seemed obvious: of course there was. The only problem was I couldn’t think of any examples of gentle surrender. The fighting surrender was all I could call to mind.

Then, this morning, I was puttering around the house and I remembered a Sarah McLachlan song that said something about surrender:

Oh, it doesn’t mean much
It doesn’t mean anything at all
The life I’ve left behind me
Is a cold room
I’ve crossed the last line
From where I can’t return

Sweet surrender
Is all that I have to give to you

You can see the song in its entirety here. Although she’s singing about lovers, the concept remains the same in many ways. When two people get married, life is a complete surrender to each other. If one person surrenders more than the other, things get all off kilter. This kind of surrender requires a balance. And the surrender must quickly be complete. I think that’s what the whole "one flesh" thing is all about.

So as I think about all this, I start to call to mind my best friend, who is the most stubborn and willful soul I have ever known, and yet he is the quintessential picture of what it means to surrender to someone you love.

The thing is, God has already done his part. His Son walked this earth and surrendered to everyone He encountered. He surrendered His life for all mankind, including us today. Already, the relationship isn’t balanced. God is waiting on us. But what I think is so cool about this is how quickly the balance comes when we surrender in a fashion like Sarah sings. Willingly. Knowing that surrender is all we can give.

Lord, I pray that today you would give me a heart of willing surrender. I don’t want to fight You nor the Life You offer. I desire to come to you, humbly, and give You the only thing I can: the life You have given me. Like a child who asks his father for money to buy him a gift, I offer You the only thing of value which is all that You’ve blessed me with. Amen.

Leave a Reply

