Seasoned With Grace

Devote yourselves to prayer, keeping alert in it with an attitude of thanksgiving; praying at the same time for us as well, that God will open up to us a door for the word, so that we may speak forth the mystery of Christ, for which I have been imprisoned; that I may make it clear in the way I ought to speak. Conduct yourselves with wisdom toward outsiders, making the most of the opportunity. Let your speech always be with grace, as though seasoned with salt, so that you will know how you should respond to each person. – Colossians 4:2-6

I could try and unpack some deep theological thought about salt and purification, but I don’t feel the need at present. I heard this passage read during a sermon (dating from 2007) and it touched me. It convicted me, and at the same time filled me with hope.

It is my earnest desire to be seasoned with grace, to know how to respond to each individual that I encounter.

As each day unfolds, I am more and more amazed at exactly what God is doing. Its not as though I’ve been given clear footpath in which to follow, but I have been given an overwhelming peace. And even still, this peace wanes in moments. But I have recognized those moments for what they are: the temptation to doubt the work that God has promised to fulfill in me.

I walk forward and ask God to continue to guide, not just me but those around me that we shall all be sharing a common vision. I pray that we will all be "seasoned with salt," able to "conduct [ourselves] with wisdom."

Leave a Reply

